e-Reference

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of reference resources on different subjects.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Starting Points
Below are some popular reference sources for your quick check.
 
  • Britannica Academic - Britannica Academic is a consolidated searchable collection of authoritative references, including Encyclopedia Britannica brief articles, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus, magazines and periodical, images, videos, websites and the Britannica book of the year.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Gale Virtual Reference Library database is a collection of digital handbooks, encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Oxford Reference: Quick Reference - Oxford Reference Library provides over 120 in-depth and specialist titles Oxford's award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions.
  • SAGE Knowledge - Provides access to over 1,400 ebooks in the subject areas of Business and Management, Media and Communication and Sociology.
Online Reference Collections
This guide provides quick links to you on some online reference sources by category. Some specific reference works can also be found by using SearchPlus.
Print Reference Collections
The Reference Collection includes a variety of quick reference materials such as encyclopaedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and handbooks, which is located at the G/F of the Library. The printed reference collection is for the use in the Library only.
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk.
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Encyclopedias
Selected Online Encyclopedias Database
 
  • Britannica Academic - Britannica Academic is a consolidated searchable collection of authoritative references, including Encyclopedia Britannica brief articles, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary and thesaurus, magazines and periodical, images, videos, websites and the Britannica book of the year.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (via EBSCO) - Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database contains over 25,000 information segments appropriate for the research needs of middle and high schools students.
  • SAGE Knowledge - Provides access to over 1,400 ebooks in the subject areas of Business and Management, Media and Communication and Sociology.

Selected Encyclopedias by Subject
 

 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Statistics Database
Statistics Database
 
  • China Statistical Yearbooks Database - It contains 590 statistical yearbooks, in which around 150 titles are current titles. Coverage from 1949. In addition to browse the yearbooks. This database allows users to compare data different districts and output the result to Microsoft Word or Excel.
  • CSMAR Solution [Simplified Chinese Site ] [Traditional Chinese Site ] - CSMAR Solution research database provides data on the China stock markets and the financial statements of China's listed companies. Includes 12 series and 81 databases.
  • Passport - Passport provides market information on detailed market size, country marketing parameters, marketing forecast data, consumer lifestyles, business sources as well as marketing profiles and analysis.
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
E-News
News Databases
 
  • Factiva - Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs in English and in Chinese.
  • HKET.com (Please request login information at Services Counter) - Hong Kong Economic Times newspaper (經濟日報) which is a digital version of the daily print newspaper. Access to the last 30 days of the newspaper and the content of hket.com back to 2005 are available.
  • LexisNexis Academic - LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text information of news, international case law, international legislation, company reports, and journals.
  • Newspaper Source Plus (via EBSCO) - Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 1,200 full-text newspapers, providing more than 77 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts.
  • Regional Business News (via EBSCO) - This database provides full text access to 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
  • SCMP.com - SCMP.com is a free online newspaper platform, which provides access to articles and images published in the South China Morning Post newspaper in the past 20 years.
  • Westlaw Asia - Westlaw Asia is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information. The collection includes case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, and directories Hong Kong, Asia, United Kingdom and Australia.
  • WiseNews / WiseSearch - WiseNews database provides full-text electronic newspaper clippings of Chinese and English newspapers Hong Kong, China, Taiwan, Macau and other countries.
 
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources