Translation

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on Translation.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
 
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Use below databases to find articles, news, reports and more from scholarly journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and other information sources.
Databases
Database for Journal Articles
E-Book Collections
Online Dictionaries / Reference Works
News Databases
Legal Databases
Additional Resources
Machine Translation Archive -  A digital repository  of bibliographic index for journals , books and reference materials regarding machine translation, computer translation systems, and computer-based translation tools.


Tips: Click Databases A-Z to view a full list of library subscribed databases with brief information and user guides.
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
E-Reference Materials
Selected Encyclopedias and Handbooks
 

Selected Language Dictionaries
 

Tips: Click HERE for more reference materials.
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations and free online tools in Translation.
Useful Links
  • BITRA. Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation - This site comprises over 60,000 entries, with more than 25,000 abstracts, more than 70,000 citations collected in the impact field, and more than 2,000 tables of contents, making up a database on translation and interpreting created in 2001.
  • Glossaries of Terms Commonly Used in Government Departments - About 110,000 terms are compiled by the Official Languages Division of the Civil Service Bureau. There are 23 categories, each covering a specific subject.
  • Google Translate - Google's free online language translation service instantly translates text and web pages.
  • Google translator toolkit - It is a web application designed to allow translators to edit the translations that Google Translate automatically generates.
  • Language Realm - It is a vast, free Web resource for language reference, learning, and study.
  • The Linguist List - It is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world.
  • The Translator's Home Companion - It provides the single most useful source of information for the professional translator and those in need of translation services.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources