Mathematics & Statistics

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on Mathematics & Statistics.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
 
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk.
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
 
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Databases
Databases for Journal Articles
    
E-Book Collections

 

Databases for Statistical Data
 
 

Tips: Click Databases A-Z to view a full list of library subscribed databases with brief information and user guides.
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
E-Reference Materials
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Locating Books in Mathematics & Statistics on Shelves
Books are arranged on shelves by call numbers which represent their subjects. You can browse the shelves with call numbers shown as below table.
 
Subject Classification Numbers (LCC)
  Mathematics   QA1 - 939
  Statistics   HA
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations and free online tools in Mathematics & Statistics.
Useful Links
  • Census and Statistics Department (政府統計處) - It provides statistics covering various social and economic aspects of Hong Kong.
  • The European Digital Mathematics Library - EuDML makes the mathematics literature available online in the forms of an enduring digital collection, developed and maintained by a network of institutions.
  • MIT OpenCourseware: Mathematics - MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. This site provides many online mathematics courses.
  • The Probability Web - This site provides a collection of probability resources on the internet. It is designed to be especially helpful to researchers, teachers, and people in the probability community.
  • Programs | Mathematical Association of America - This site is a page of Mathematical Association of America, which provides a range of programs and resources that foster professional skills and enrich the broader mathematical community.
  • Stat Trek - This site provides training and tools to help you solve statistics problem quickly, easily, and accurately by yourself.
  • Wolfram MathWorld - This site provides extensive mathematical resource as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communitites as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources