English

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on English Language and Linguistics.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please send email to library@hsu.edu.hk
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
E-Reference Materials
Selected Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Selected Dictionaries
You may also make use of the below platform to check for an unfamiliar concept.

Tips: Click HERE for more reference materials.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Locating Books in English Language and Linguistics on Shelves
Books are arranged on shelves by call numbers which represent their subjects.  You can browse the shelves with call numbers shown as below table.
 
Subject Classification Numbers (LCC)
 American Literature   PS1 - 3626
 English Language   PE1 - 3729
 English Literature   PR1 - 9680
 Public Speaking   PN4121 - 4130

 

 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations in English Language and Linguistics and free English tools.
Useful Links
  • American Literature Sites - It provides annotated links to selected good sites in American literature.
  • BBC Learning English - Comprehensive materials for intermediate to advanced ESL learners from the BBC World Service.
  • British and Irish Authors on the Web - It provides large number of links to information about authors from 600 AD to the present.
  • EnglishClub - It helps to learn English or teach English, including fun pages like games, videos, quizzes and chat.
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library - This is a digital preservation repository providing millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
  • Internet Shakespeare Editions - It delivers open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards scholarship, design, and usability.
  • Language and Linguistics - It provides works on language, linguistic theory and structural linguistics.
  • LearnEnglish Online - To view the selection of free online learning materials for English from British Council.
  • Linguistics Courses Resources - Phonetics and phonological resources compiled by the University of Texas.
  • The Online Literature Library - It provides full and unabridged texts of classic works of English literature.
  • Study Zone, University of Victoria English Language Centre - The site is designed for adult English language learners which provides online English language lessons and practice exercises.
  • UsingEnglish.com - A large collection of English as a Second Language tools and resources for students, teachers, learners and academics, covering the full spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.
  • The Writer's Handbook - It provides many instructional materials developed for the Writing Center at The University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here