Computing

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on Computing.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
 
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk.
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Find E-Journals
Browse E-Journals by Title
 

Browse E-Journals by Subject Category

You can click HERE, then follow the below steps to select the e-journal titles:

Step 1: Click the tab "Category"

Step 2: Select the below Categories and SubCategories:
 
Category SubCategory
Engineering Electronical Engineering
General and Others
Information Technology ALL
Mathematics Sciences Appled Mathematics
Telecommunications Technology Communication Networks & Technology
General and Others
Image Processing & Television Technology
Wireless Communications
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Locating Books in Computing on Shelves
Books are arranged on shelves by call numbers which represent their subjects. You can browse the shelves with call numbers shown as below table.
 
Subject Classification Numbers (LCC)
  Algebra   QA 150 - 272.5
  Applied mathematics. Quantitative methods   T 57 - 57.97
  Computer graphics   T 385
  Computer hardware   TK 7885 - 7895
  Computer network   TK 5105
  Computer software   QA 76.75 - 76.765
  Digital computers   QA 76.5 - 76.73
  Electronic computers. Computer science   QA 101 - 145
  Human engineering   TA 166 - 167
 Human engineering in industry. Man-machine systems   T 59.7 - 59.77
  Information technology   T 58.5 - 58.64
  Managerial control systems   T 58.4
  Mathematics   QA 1 - 939
  Technology (general)   T 1 - 995

 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations and free online tools in Computing.
Useful Links
  • Bento  – It selects some learning resources on how to code around the web and teach user to learn on their own.
  • CODE – To provide a varies of online courses such as Computer Science Fundamentals, JavaScript and the Hour of Code, created by Code.org for different levels of users.
  • Codecademy – Free resources for learning code interactively
  • The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies – This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science.
  • w3schools – To provide different free tutorials and references on web development languages such as HTML, CSS, JavaScript, SQL and PHP, etc.
  • webreference – The reference for web developers with tutorials on all aspects of web design and authoring, including JavaScript, DHTML, 3D animation, CSS, RSS, etc.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources