Banking & Finance

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on Banking & Finance.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Use below databases to find articles, news, reports and more from scholarly journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and other information sources.
Databases
Databases for Journal Articles
E-Book Collections
News Databases
Databases for Company Financials / Investment Data
Others
Tips: Click Databases A-Z to view a full list of library subscribed databases with brief information and user guides.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
E-Reference Materials
Selected Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Selected Dictionaries

You may also make use of below platforms to check for an unfamiliar concept.

Tips: Click HERE for more reference materials.
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Locating Books in Banking & Finance on Shelves
Books are arranged on shelves by call numbers which represent their subjects. You can browse the shelves with call numbers shown as below table.
 
Subject Classification Numbers (LCC)
  Banking   HG1501 - 3550
  Corporate Finance   HG4026
  Credit. Loans   HG3691 - 3769
  Economics   HB
  Economic Conditions, China   HC426 - 430
  Economic Conditions, Hong Kong   HC470.3
  Finance   HG
  Foreign exchange   HG3810 - 3877.2
  International Business   HF1371 - 1385
  International Finance   HF1359 - 1379
  Money   HG201 - 1496
  Personal Finance   HG179

CFA & CPA Collections (Located at 1/F of the Library)
 
  • CFA Collection - This collection consists of books issued by the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute. Some items in this collection are also available in electronic format. In addition, a few supplementary publications for helping candidates to sit for the CFA exam and some other popular professional exams in finance such as CFP, FRM, HKSI and HKIB are also kept here.
  • CPA Collection - This collection includes learning resources issued by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants for its CPA Qualification Program. A set of the latest editions is kept in the CPA Collection. The earlier edition will be kept in the Circulation Collection.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Online Audio Visual Materials
Multi-Media by Title
 
  • Business Source Ultimate (via EBSCO) - Click "Images/Business Videos" under "More" in the database and enter keyword(s) at the search box to find business videos from Harvard Business School.
Audio Visual Materials on Shelves
 
Perform an Advanced Search in SearchPlus and follow below steps:
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations and free online tools in Banking & Finance.  
Useful Links
  • AAstocks - AAstocks is the most authoritative financial information and analysis solutions provider in Hong Kong and has been well recognized by investors.
  • BigCharts - BigCharts is an investment research Website, providing access to research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis, etc.
  • Bonds Online - Bonds Online provides bond information, news, quotes and trading for individual and institutional bond investors.
  • Centre for Financial Planning & Investment - The CFP&I promotes research and education in the area of financial planning and investment.
  • CNNMoney.com - CNNMoney is the online home of FORTUNE and MONEY magazines, and serves as CNN's exclusive business site.
  • Reserve-Bank.com - Reserve-Bank.com is a large banking directory. Thousands of banks from around the world are listed here.
  • Reuters - Reuters brings the latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in business and finance.
  • World Bank - World Bank offers a growing range of free, easy-to-access tools, research and knowledge to help people address the world's development challenges.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources