Journalism and Communication

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on Journalism and Communication.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
 
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk.
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Find E-Journals
Browse E-Journals by Title
 



Browse E-Journal by Subject Category

You can click HERE
, then follow the below steps to select the e-journal titles:

Step 1: Click the tab "Category"

Step 2: Select the below Categories and SubCategories:
 
Category SubCategory
Social Sciences Journalism, Mass Communication, Media & Publishing
Arts and Humanities Current Events & News
Business, Economy and Management Organizational Communication, Business Writing
Public Relations
Telecommunications Technology Image Processing & Television Technology
Wireless Communications
Communication Networks & Technology
General and Others
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Locating Books in Journalism and Communication on Shelves
Books are arranged on shelves by call numbers which represent their subjects. You can browse the shelves with call numbers shown as below table.
 
Subject Classification Numbers (LCC)
  Advertising   HF5801 - 6182
  Broadcasting   PN1990 - 1992.92
  Business Communication   HF5717 - 5734.5
  Communication / Mass Media   P87 - 96 / HM 1206 - 1211
  Journalism   PN4699 - 5650

 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations in Journalism and Communication. 
Professional Associations
  • American Communication Association (ACA) - The association brings together scholars and professional practitioners in the field of communication. It promotes the use of communication technologies to enhance pedagogy of communication and provides accreditation information for academic programmes in communication. The website also provides links to the official peer-reviewed journals published by the Association.
  • Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) - AEJMC is an association for educators, students and media professionals at the field of journalism and mass communication. The website provides information on the association publications, newsletter, research scholarship, resources on teaching and research, etc.
  • Communications and Media Law Association (CAMLA) - Tailored for the group interested in law and policy on communications and media, the website provides the Communication Law Bulletin to enhance debate and discussion; information on association events; latest news.
  • International Communication Association (ICA) - ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in all aspects of human and mediated communication. The website offers information on the association publications, conferences, etc.
  • International Institute of Communications - The IIC is an independent, global, not for profit policy forum for the converging telecoms, media and technology industries. Membership offers a discussion framework and professional network for senior level strategists working at the intersection of business and public policy.
Useful Links
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources