Asian Studies

Overview
This guide will provide you with starting points for finding a wide range of resources on Asian Studies.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
 
Feedback
We value your comment on this guide. Please email your suggestions to library@hsu.edu.hk.
Last edited: December 2018
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Find E-Journals
 
Browse E-Journals by Title  
 

Browse E-Journals by Subject Category

You can click HERE
, then follow the below steps to select the e-journal titles:

 
Step 1: Click the tab "Category"

Step 2: Select the below Categories and SubCategories:
 
Category SubCategory
Arts and Humanities ALL
Business, Economy and Management  - Business Management
 - Economics
 -
Finance 
 - General and Others
Environmental Sciences  - Environmental Planning and Studies
 - General and Others
 - Sustainable Developement
Law  - Regional and International Law
 - General and Others
Social Sciences  - Anthropology
 - Behavioral Science (Psychology) and Counselling 
 - Communities and Urban Planning
 - Demographic Studies

 - Developmental Issues & Socioeconomic Studies

 - Disability Studies & Assistance
 - Foreign Policy, Defense and Internal Security
 - Gender Studies

 - General and Others
 - Museums & Heritage Organizations

 - Political Science
 - Public Policy & Administration
 - Regional and International Studies
 - Sociology
 
 
 
 
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Use below databases to find articles, news, reports and more from scholarly journals, newspapers, conference proceedings and other information sources.
Databases
Databases for History Resources
 
Databases for Journal Articles
    
E-Book Collections
 
  
Statistical Data
 
 

Tips: Click Databases A-Z to view a full list of library subscribed databases with brief information and user guides.
 
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
E-Reference Materials
Selected Encyclopedias and Handbooks
 
Selected Dictionaries

You may also make use of the below platform to check for an unfamiliar concept.

Tips: Click HERE for more reference materials.
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Locating Books in Asian Studies on Shelves
Books are arranged on shelves by call numbers which represent their subjects. You can browse the shelves with call numbers shown as below table.
 
Subject Classification Numbers (LCC)
  Asian. Oriental   BL 1000 - 2370
  Buddhism   BQ 3 - 9800
  Chinese language and literature   PL 1001 - 3207
  Economic history and conditions   HA 1 - 4646
  Fine Arts
     - Art history. China

     - Drawing. Design. Illustration. China
     - China
  N
  N 7340

  NC 1690 - 1699
  ND 1040
  Folklore   GR 1 - 950
  Geography   G 1 - 2000
  History
    - China
    - Taiwan
    - Japan
    - Korea
  D
  DS 701 - 799.9
  DS 798.92 - 799.9
  DS 801 - 897
  DS 901 - 937
  Japanese language and literature   PL 501 - 889
  Korean language and literature   PL 901 - 998
  Land, agriculture, industry   HD 37 - 9999
  Law
    - Law (Asia and Eurasia, etc.)
    - China
    - China (People's Republic, 1949- )
  K
  KL - KWX
  KNN 1 - 9000
  KNQ 1 - 9665
  Manners and customs   GT 90 - 7055
  Music   M
  National bibliography
    - China
  Z 1201 - 4980
  Z 3101 - 3109
  Political institutiions and public administration
  (East Asia)
  JQ 1499 - 1749
  Recreation   GV 45 - 1965
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources
 
Below are some selected online resources which include professional associations and free online tools in Asian Studies.
Useful Links
China  

Hong Kong  
  • Asia Art Archive - The collection now holds over 65,000 records and hundreds of thousands of physical and digital items for public to access freely. 
  • Corpus of Political Speeches - This is an online archive of speeches from politicans around the world, maintained by Hong Kong Baptist University library.
  • Hong Kong Government Reports Online (1842 – 1941) - This is a full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications,  including Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette. 
  • Hong Kong Journals Online - This is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, covering different disciplines such as law, medicine and education. 
  • Hong Kong Memory - Hong Kong Memory (HKM) is a multi-media web site that gives free and open access to digitized materials on Hong Kong’s history, culture and heritage.
  • Hong Kong Yearbook - This website provides full text of Hong Kong Yearbook starting from 1997.
  • Hong Kong Catholic Diocesan Archive - Different documents related to Hong Kong Catholic Diocesan such as historical documents, statistics or online resources can be found in this archive.
  • Old HK Newspapers - This database provides digitized images of old Hong Kong newspapers such as Hong Kong Daily Press, 香港工商日報, 華僑日報, 華字日報 and 大公報, etc., which maintained by Hong Kong Public Libraries.
  • 香港中文期刊論文索引 - 此索引由香港中文大學圖書館設立,為在香港出版的中文及雙語刊物提供索引,部份文章提供免費全文連結。
  • 香港歷史與社會 - 此網頁由香港中文大學梁保全香港歷史及人文研究中心所設立,提供與香港歷史與社會相關之政府檔案、民間資料、報刊雜誌,部份資料提供線上閱覽。

Japan  
Korea  
  • Encyclopedia of Korean Culture - Users can search terms and information related to Korean culture in this website.
  • KOFA: Korean Film Archive - This website includes lots of information about Korean films, some links have been provided for accessing full version of movies online.
  • Korean Statistical Information Service - This website provides a full range of statistics of South Korea, North Korea and other countries.
  • Statistics Korea - Users can find different materials such as Press Releases, survey outline and Economic and Financial Data for Korea in this website.
  • 한국역사정보통합시스템 : Korean history on-line - This website provides different databases and collections in Korean language, including Korean History Database, the veritable records of the Joseon Dynasty and the daily records of Royal Secretariat of Joseon Dynasty, etc.

Taiwan  
  • National Central Library Gazette Online - The Government Gazette Online provides a collection of major national decrees and regulations of Taiwan such as Presidential Office Gazette, Executive Yuan Gazette and Legislative Yuan Gazette, etc.
  • National Statistics (Taiwan) - Users can find different statistics of Taiwan in this website.
  • Taiwan Citation Index - Humanities and Social Sciences - This is a Taiwan Citation Index of Humanities and Social Sciences, including a wide range of subjects such as Literature, Psychology, Economics and Management, etc.
  • 台灣民間信仰教學資源網 - 此網站由淡南民俗文化研究會、民俗與文化半年刊及觀佑文化工作室等組織設立,提供與台灣民間信仰等不同資訊及資源,如不同道教資料庫、期刊報紙及不同文獻資料。

Others  
Ask A Librarian

Need help in locating information, collections and resources available in the Library? Please click HERE.
Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management tool that allows you to build your own library of references and citations in a variety of citation style e.g. APA, MLA and Chicago for different projects / assignments.
Access RefWorks Here

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources